A Man Under The Influence (2001)
by Alejandro Escovedo
Bloodshot Records - BS 170 - 24/04/2001

A Man Under the Influence is the fifth studio album by American singer-songwriter Alejandro Escovedo, released on April 24, 2001 on Bloodshot Records. It was produced by Chris Stamey. A deluxe edition was released on November 15, 2009.

Billboard wrote that A Man Under the Influence was "the best studio performance Escovedo has ever delivered". Similarly, Joshua Klein wrote in the A.V. Club that the album "could be Escovedo's best yet", and James Mann said in PopMatters that the album was "far and away his best work".

Several critics also commended Stamey's production on the album: Joe Tangari wrote in Pitchfork that on the track "Velvet Guitar", his production "keeps [the five guitarists on that track] all in their respective places, avoiding a sloppy mess." Additionally, Raoul Hernandez wrote in the Austin Chronicle that Stamey "deserves credit for the LP's overall cohesion of sound."


1Don't Need You (written by Alejandro Escovedo)
Guitar [Additional] - Chris Stamey
Harmony Vocals - Ryan Adams
Acoustic Guitar, Vocals - Alejandro Escovedo
Bass, Harmony Vocals - Cornbread
Cello - Brian Standefer
Drums, Tambourine - Hector Munoz
Electric Guitar - Eric Heywood
Organ, Acoustic Guitar - Mike Daly
2As I Fall (written by Alejandro Escovedo)
Backing Vocals - Ryan Adams
Acoustic Guitar, Vocals - Alejandro Escovedo
Bass, Harmony Vocals - Cornbread
Cello - Brian Standefer
Drums - Hector Munoz
Pedal Steel Guitar - Eric Heywood
Keyboards [Chamberlain] - Mike Daly
Electric Guitar - Mitch Easter
Harmony Vocals [High] - Lynn Blakey


Performance statistics

TitleTimes playedDebutLast played
Don't Need YouNever played live
As I FallNever played live



Ryan Adams - Guest Artist, Vocal Harmony, Vocals (Background)
Stephen Barber - Composer
Lynn Blakey - Vocal Harmony, Vocals (Background)
Caitlin Cary - Guest Artist, Violin, Vocals (Background)
Cornbread - Bass
Mike Daly - Bass, Guitar (12 String Electric), Guitar (Acoustic), Mando-Guitar, Mandolin, Pedal Steel
Mitch Easter - Engineer, Guitar (Electric)
Alejandro Escovedo - Composer, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Primary Artist, Vocals
J.D. Foster - Composer
Eric Heywood - Pedal Steel, Pump Organ, Vocal Harmony
Joe Eddy Hines - Guitar (Electric), Slide Guitar
Hector Muñoz - Drums, Orchestral Percussion, Tambourine
Aaron Oliva - Bowed Double Bass, Double Bass
David Perales - Violin, Vocal Harmony
John Plymale - Mixing
Chris Robinson - Vocal Harmony, Vocals (Background)
Dana Lee Smith - Artwork
Chris Stamey - Bass, Engineer, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Baritone), Guitar (Electric), Kurzweil Synthesizer, Producer, Sleigh Bells
Jon Wurster - Shaker